Building Your Brand

At the beginning of every semester professors always want you to make personal introductions, get to know the class exercises, blah blah blah.  Oh how I dread these.  I work and I go to school period what else is there to say?

Since I have been in college I literally have been consumed by going to work, going to school and studying.  It doesn’t feel like I have a single minute to myself to do anything that I like to do.  College for most is about finding yourself or so they say but for me I think I have let the daily grind take over my life.

So, how does all this self reflection relate to communications?

Well, as a senior in college who after ten years of working entry level jobs I will soon be seeking a career hopefully doing something that I can get excited about everyday!  Therefore it is necessary for me to start building my brand.   The brand Elizabeth.  Cheesy I know but seriously companies use this process all the time and it is a great way for you, as a potential employee, to set yourself apart from the competition.

According to Lisa Quast there are Six Steps to Branding Yourself

  1. Define your overall aspirations
  2. Conduct research
  3. Determine your brand attributes
  4. Assess your current state
  5. Create your game plan
  6. Manage your brand

I’m only in the first stage of building my brand.  I wish I would have made time to do this sooner.

My advice to you:

  1. Don’t let school, work or both take over your life
  2. And START BRANDING YOURSELF
2 thoughts on “Building Your Brand

  1. Elizabeth, I love this post because I personally believe building your own personal brand is one of the most important things in the communications world. It can be an easy way to make yourself stand out. I feel as if we forget to do that and become overwhelmed with other things such as school, so great advice on that! Lisa Quast is dead on with her tips! One thing I am struggling with is determining my aspirations. So I need to get on board with her! Don’t fret about developing your brand too late, it is never too late! I think we are both at an advantage for realizing we need to start now!
    Great blog post and don’t let school and work consume ALL of your time, leave some “you” time!

  2. I agree, it seems that school and work has taken over my life. There is not enough time in the day. I have been working on finding a balance between work and school so that I can actually enjoy my life a little more. Since I enjoy traveling I will be going to Mexico during winter break, and I am so excited

Leave a Reply

